I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream sandwiches

If you’ve spent any time in Westwood, you have probably heard of Diddy Riese where you can get a delicious ice cream sandwich for $1.50 (it used to be $1!)  You can pick two different kinds of cookies (cinnamon sugar is the best) and whatever type of ice cream you want.  It’s the type of place where there’s always a line out the door and even though it’s “just” an ice cream sandwich, you feel compelled to wait and it’s SO worth it.  I had resigned myself to the fact that Diddy Riese is a one of a kind place and that it would just be my special treat anytime I was in LA.  Imagine my surprise when I heard that a place just like Diddy Riese opened in Berkeley!

It’s called CREAM and stands for Cookies Rule Everything Around Me.  Adorable, I know.  The first time I went there, the line was down the block and didn’t appear to be moving (plus all the college kids in line made me feel really old), so we left, but went back today.  My assessment?  CREAM is not Diddy Riese, but it’s a pretty good stand in if you don’t live in Westwood.  I had cinnamon caramel ice cream with a sugar cookie and turtle cookie (chocolate, caramel, peanut).  The ice cream was delicious, but the cookies aren’t as good as Diddy Riese.  Still, I’d have a hard time turning one down if I was in the area. 

Leave a Reply

