Eating in Emilia-Romagna (Bologna)

Bologna is a great foodie city.  It is not very touristy and as a result, you can get delicious food at reasonable prices.

There are four small streets that intersect at various points (Vias Clavature, Drapperie, Pescherie Vecchie, and Caprarie) where you can find an abundance of pasta shops, bakeries, food markets, and restaurants.  It is foodie heaven.

In this area, you MUST visit A.F. Tamburini during lunch time.  Tamburini is a deli with meat, cheese, pasta, and prepared food.  During lunch, they have cafeteria style food service in the back with very affordable, really delicious pasta.  So delicious that we scarfed down most of it before I remembered to take a picture!  They also have very good zucchini ripieni, which is stuffed with Bolognese sauce.


Another must visit in this area is Pasticceria Atti & Figli (two locations, Via Caprarie 7, Via Drapperie 6).  I saw a few people buying fresh pasta by the pound and the whole process was so beautifully meticulous.  The woman working there would carefully line a cardboard box with wax paper, then delicately place the pasta inside before wrapping a ribbon around the pasta box.  I had some FOMA that we didn’t have the means to cook any pasta – something I admitted begrudgingly after my partner convinced me we shouldn’t try to boil pasta in the coffee pot in our hotel.

I was paralyzed with indecision when faced with the cookie selection at Pasticceria Atti & Figli, so I did the only responsible thing – try one of each!

My two favorites were the raspberry tart – just the right amount of buttery flakiness and sweet filling, and the chocolate dipped meringue – a combination of melt in your mouth and slightly chewy, but not too sweet.  Mmmmm.

On some days, there are also produce stands set up in this area, but I couldn’t figure out the exact schedule.

The Ugo Bassi Market (aka Mercato delle Erbe) felt a bit dive-y, though the produce at some stands looked pretty good and this cheese shop looked like it was worth exploring.  Uncharacteristically, I was kind of cheesed out at this point, so I didn’t try any of their cheese.

There was a small local market (Mercato F. Albani) by our hotel where I had the most delicious oranges.  This coming from a girl whose family used to have oranges shipped to Jersey from Florida every winter.  (I know, I know, it’s not very green!)  I slurped down several oranges every day we were in Bologna!

We also discovered Pizze e Panini Sfizi (Via Giacomo Matteotti 39c) near the train station where they had really tasty large margherita pizzas for 3.50 euros!  The guys working there thought we were hilarious.  They didn’t speak a lot of English, so whenever we went in, they would shout California!  It made us feel like rock stars.  Our own pizza paparazzi 🙂

No food exploration is complete in Italy without finding the best gelato and for that, we turned to the award-winning La Sorbetteria Castiglione.  We had a really hard time deciding which flavors to get.  There were so many we liked that I can’t even remember which one we decided on.  I think it was dulce de leche and amaretto.  Whatever it was, it was delicious.  Yum, yum, yum!

That’s it for our Italy trip!  It’s taken me over a month to finally finish writing about it, but it’s been fun drooling over the memories.  I hope I didn’t make you too hungry!

One Response to Eating in Emilia-Romagna (Bologna)

Leave a Reply

