Pregnancy Tea

I’m a big fan of controlled studies that measure the efficacy of various interventions, but I am also a believer in some alternative medicine.  So, when it comes to things like pregnancy tea, I am cautious, but also have FOMA about it.  Recently, after talking to a doula I respect a lot, I decided that I would take my chances with pregnancy tea even though the American Pregnancy Association warns pregnant women to proceed with caution when it comes to some of these ingredients (scroll down to “Herbs Used in Teas”).  The main things to watch out for is increased contractions correlated with tea drinking, but if you don’t seem to be experiencing that, I think you’re good to go.

Here’s the mix and what the herbs are intended for:

2 parts – Red raspberry leaf (tones uterus)
2 parts – Nettle (tones uterus, lots of nutrients/calcium, increases energy, flow of milk)
2 parts – Dandelion (aids digestion, elimination)
1 part – Oatstraw (calming, strengthens capillaries)
1 part – Alfalfa (vitamin K, increases milk supply)
1 part – Lemon Balm (mood lifter)
1 part – Spearmint (calcium, magnesium, digestion, flavor)
1 part – Rosehips (vitamin C, strengthens bag of waters)

I went to a local tea store and had them mix it up for me.  Many grocery stores with bulk sections also sell these ingredients, but then you have to mix and measure yourself.  There are also lots of prepackaged pregnancy teas that have some or all of these ingredients.

I steep two tablespoons of tea in 32 oz of boiling water overnight.  I try to drink that amount every day.  A friend also told me that it’s good for after birth to help your uterus contract.  Sounds like wonder tea to me!

Leave a Reply

