Vegan Chocolate Strawberry Cupcakes

As a lover of cheese, I used to think eating vegan was something akin to punishment, but a friend of mine couldn’t eat dairy for six months because her baby was allergic.  She made vegan shortbread cookies that were so delicious that it opened my mind.  Then, I got a Sunset magazine with a recipe from famed vegan baker Chloe Coscarelli for Chocolate Strawberry Cupcakes.  I made them as an experiment, not quite believing that they could taste good (especially because vinegar is an ingredient), but they were delicious!  When I make these again, I will probably just make regular frosting because I’m not vegan and I think shortening is more unhealthy than butter, but the shortening frosting did taste pretty good.

I won’t copy the recipe here because you can get it from Chloe Coscarelli’s website, but I will include a picture of one of my cupcakes!

Looks pretty good, right?

2 Responses to Vegan Chocolate Strawberry Cupcakes

  1. Jenny K says:

    I don’t know what kind of shortening you used but Earth Balance makes a non-hydrogenated shortening that is probably healthier. Unless there is another reason besides trans fat that shortening is bad?

    • Good point. I think even the non-hydrogenated kind has palm oil. Traditionally, I thought palm oil was bad, but it seems to be making a comeback these days, so who knows. I’ll add it to my “to research” list 🙂

Leave a Reply

