When did I become old?

Here’s how I realized that I am old.  It didn’t happen all at once, but a confluence of events made me realize that people no longer look at me and automatically call me Miss.  They sometimes call me M’am and it’s often because they are younger than me.

1. A few days after the Miley Cyrus VMA debacle, I  had to look up twerking on wikipedia and thought something to the effect of “silly kids”.  I still don’t understand how it’s different from dancing.  I have considered asking my former students to explain it to me, but have decided it’s too embarrassing.

2. My partner and I were in a store looking at high fiber cereal and he said, that’s for old people.  A second later, he said, one day, I’m going to say, that’s for old people, hey, that’s me!  It reminded me of the twerking situation.

3. I saw this article in the NY Times today.  This line “(twerking) is the sort of thing they hear about on NPR” and since that is 100% true for me, it confirmed for me that I am old, or at least very much not a youth.

It happened.  I became a mom and I am slowly becoming more and more out of touch with what’s hip, so much so that I don’t even understand it.  Sigh.

One Response to When did I become old?

  1. […] I printed out action bubbles like this and sized it to be slightly bigger than the names.  I used a rotary cutter to cut that out in […]

Leave a Reply

