I’m Breaking Up With Amazon

Remember when Amazon meant good customer service and prime meant two day shipping? Those were the days.

My latest frustrating experience (see this post for others) with Amazon was trying to order stay dry carseat pads for my potty-training-in-progress boys. I ordered them Friday and they should have been delivered by Monday.  Today (Wednesday), I got an email saying there’s a problem and they are not available.  “We’re writing about the order you placed on May 02, 2014 … Unfortunately, we are unable to ship the item(s) as soon as we expected and need to provide you with a new estimate of when the item(s) may be delivered … We’ll make every effort to get the delayed item(s) to you as soon as possible.”  The email didn’t have an estimated delivery date, but when I logged into my account, the estimate was almost 2 weeks after I ordered, which won’t work because we’re going on a road trip and need these before we leave.

I initiated an Amazon customer service chat to figure out whether the estimated delivery date was an overestimate and was told the seat protectors are actually 2-4 months away!  I don’t actually know which estimate was correct, but obviously I had to cancel my order. Now I have to find somewhere else to order from and will probably have to pay for rushed shipping. Ugh.

Ordering from Amazon has become akin to playing russian roulette.  Ok, that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but seriously, you never know when/whether your items will arrive. It’s usually fine, but sometimes it’s very inconveniently not fine at all.  The prices aren’t always cheaper than other places and even when they are, it’s not by much.  Plus, in situations like this one, you might end up paying even more when Amazon doesn’t actually deliver the items.  It’s no longer assuredly more convenient and reliable than ordering from somewhere else.  I think it’s time for me to move on from this relationship.  I must admit, though, like with many long term relationships, I have a little hope that this one can be saved, but my logical self says it’s time to move on.

Leave a Reply

